On The Bench Ep155

Hello 2023!

2023, In with the new! I started off the year by finishing Friedrich. Well, maybe not completely but to near completion. I ran into a problem (an errant glue mark) that required a bit of clear part polishing and a wee bit of repainting on the front panel. Decals were applied and Friedrich himself is now safely ensconced inside the Ma.K. I’m undecided about applying an oil wash to Friedrich as I kinda like the pristine look. Part of the hesitation is I can’t decide if a light or dark wash would work best. Hm. Progress was also made on Nahida (Sword Dancer, Sands of Sudd Tohst). Initially, I used dilute glazes of Model Color Blue (70.925) but thought it was too purplish and painted over it with Citadel’s Fenrisian Grey. It’s still a long way from being finished but I think I’ve pushed through the No Mojo phase. The Me323 also made a step forward. Getting rid of the seams required some doing. I tried black CA, then several applications of Mr Surfacer 1000 and finally a bit of Perfect Plastic Putty to tame the seams. Each step took painstaking sanding so as not to destroy the moulded ridges along the fuselage. Thanks, GWH?!? Finally, I assembled the new paint racks I received for Christmas which meant my entire bench needed a makeover.

On The Bench Ep155 (1/6/2023) Hello 2023.

The boys (Dave, Ian and Julian) open the podcast with a Christmas review, targeted Facebook ads pushing anti-aging men’s cream and a long, long, long discussion about car models. Sharpened crayons, sprue goo and copious body hair also made an appearance before they moved on to the Listener Mail and the many Model Reviews by the Falcon. The final segment in this episode was about their 2023 Plans. Master Woodworker Ian wants to finish “a” model this year while mass producing figure bases, Julian hopes to complete two armor, two scifi and three car kits and Dave lists breaking out his new 3D printer, attending four model shows and thinning out his stash. Again.

Being inspired (?), I’ve listed several areas I want to focus on in 2023. Music, Exercising, Models, Gardening and Fly Tying. I didn’t make it much past listing these five areas so maybe I will and maybe I won’t make progress. I’m retired so what the hell. I don’t need no stee-ken’ goals 😉 Peace out, Gloria.

If you haven’t already, check out the first model podcast of the year!

Butt Crumbles 5 4 3 2 1 0 1 2 3 4 5 Whiskers

Published by redstaroverrussia

Go Navy, Beat Army!

Leave a comment